PAKT (Parents and Kids Together)

What is PAKT?

Parents and Kids Together (PAKT) is a community-based Programme that supports the whole family. The YMCA has been facilitating PAKT for over 20 years in more than 10 communities across Ireland.

PAKT programmes have the following components:

  • Children’s programme
  • Parents programme
  • Family Programme

Children’s programme

PAKT groups are for children and young people age 6-18 years old. We have four terms each year: Social Competence, Sense of purpose/ global justice, participation and healthy living. The children help to develop the activities each term, which can include cooking, arts and crafts, games, technology and more, depending on their interest. Groups are kept small and there is a strong focus on building relationships. As one child said “PAKT feels like a family”.

Parents’ programme

The Parent’s programme varies depending on the needs of parents. It can include one-to-one family visits, a coffee morning, where parents can chat and receive support in a caring atmosphere and parenting classes such as the “Parents Plus” programme. Parents enjoy the fun and relaxation of spending time together.

Family programme

Family events are held regularly for the whole family to attend. These events are a fun way to develop new memories together. Past examples include scavenger hunts, sports days, pantomime, out trips to the beach and more.

 

Ballincollig PAKT

Unit 1A, Innishmore Industrial Estate

Ballincollig, Co. Cork

0214877770

Contact Person: Miriam  McAuliffe

miriam@ymca-ireland.net

Bantry PAKT

St. Goban’s Centre, Seskin

Bantry, Co. Cork

Contact Person: Viki Arato

viki.arato@ymca-ireland.net

Celbridge PAKT

Contact : Elaine Underwood

elaine@ymca-ireland.net

Cobh PAKT

4 a Ticknock Commercial Park

Cobh, Co. Cork

021 4814060

Contact Tricia Collins or Maria Vickers

tricia@ymca-ireland.net

maria@ymca-ireland.net

 

Crumlin PAKT

The Hope Centre

Crumlin

Dublin

Contact person: Zoe Proctor

zoe.proctor@ymca-ireland.net

 

 

Dublin PAKT

53 Aungier St

Dublin 2

Contact person: Jen McCormac

jen@ymca-ireland

West Dublin PAKT

Unit 16A Brookfield Ent Centre,

Brookfield , Tallaght, D.24

Contact : Norma Merrick or Elaine Underwood

norma@ymca-ireland.net

elaine@ymca-ireland.net 

Carrickfergus PAKT

Carrickfergus YMCA
30 – 34 Irish Quarter West
Carrickfergus
BY38 8AT

Contact Maurice Shearer

maurice@ymca-ireland.net